July 19, 2024 7:12 am
Close this search box.

National News

12 more NH towns to launch community power this month



Another 12 towns are expected to launch community power this month, bringing the local energy control option to 30,000 additional electric customers statewide. 

The Community Power Coalition of New Hampshire – a nonprofit joint powers agency that uses collective buying power to secure competitive wholesale rates – now has 56 members, representing more than 30 percent of the state’s population.

The towns launching with community power this month include:

  • Durham
  • Hudson
  • New London
  • Newmarket
  • Pembroke
  • Stratham 
  • Warner 
  • Webster
  • Westmoreland

The towns of Chesterfield, Roxbury, and Winchester are also slated to join Cheshire County’s community power initiative this month, the only county-level program currently in the state

This latest wave of expansion, said CPCNH CEO Brian Callnan, will add to more than $9 million in customer savings seen over the last calendar year. 

Thirty-six other member municipalities are either voting on community power at Town Meeting this month, or are otherwise positioned to launch programs later this year.

Starting in February, the coalition’s community power base electric rate dropped by 26 percent, representing the lowest residential energy supply rate in the state. The coalition’s latest rates are expected to generate $5.3 million in member community benefits. 

Customers in community power municipalities can also elect for 100, 50, or 33 percent renewable power.

This article is republished from the New Hampshire Bulletin under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.